Updates. Finally.

Wow! it’s been a year since I made my last post!  A whole year!  What was I thinking?

I guess I thought I had posted a bunch of stuff, but really, I just thought about posting stuff.  Boo.

Anyway, a lot has happened in a year, and I don’t expect you to sit through it all (or care), but I’ll highlight a few things:

I’ve decided to go back to school.  I must be a glutton for punishment.  Pre requisites for a Nursing degree start in the fall.   But that’s another post in itself.

We went to Jackson for our 1 year anniversary.  It might be my favorite place on earth.  I’ll post pics later.

Nick has been attending the Police Academy (again) and will graduate in 2 weeks! (YAY!)

I got a new car.  Long story, but I’m happy with her.

DcarIsn’t she pretty?  She’s so shiny! It’s a 2010 Nissan Murano.  Plenty of room for my crap, my dog, and my eventual children!  and AWD- that’s the best part. I plan on driving her till she dies.

Lots has happened with our house in a year!  About this time last year, we were pretty burned out on house stuff.  Well that, and out of money too. so we haven’t done a lot since last summer……which gives me even less of an excuse for not posting for so long!

We accomplished a lot though, and I”ll share pictures of the inside in a different post.  Maybe this weekend, I can get the entire house clean enough to photograph!

We did finally get a moment (or 2 days) to clean the garage out!  Up until October last year, it was just full of tools, tools, and sawdust.  Then, Nick cleaned it out enough for us to both park in it for the winter, which was really nice.  A couple months ago, though, we decided it had to happen.  We emptied it and reorganized everything.

It went from this:

Garge before 2 Garage before

^^^^This was when I remembered to take a “before” picture.  It was worse when we started.

To This:

garage after garage after 2

It’s so much nicer to be able to find stuff!

We also updated our front door.  I was so happy.  It used to have a crappy screen on it, and it was actually an interior door, which made it useless for insulation.  So we upgraded.

Before:

Old front door

AFTER:

New front door

Please don’t mind the fact that we hadn’t cut out the foam insulation yet, in this photo.  I was just so excited!   The paint is “Nightwatch” by Behr in some kind of miracle exterior paint. I wanted plum, but we settled on Navy.  Apparently plum doors are “sissy” according to Nick.

 We painted the inside black, and frosted the glass, which gives us privacy, but still lets a lot of light in.

Anyway, Lately we’ve been working on the yard.  You see, we thought buying a house with a GIANT yard would be the awesomest thing ever.  But, we weren’t  thinking about

1. Weeds.  2. the fact that the yard hadn’t been cared for in YEARS and

3. Did I mention the weeds?

We have 10 flower beds. 10!!!!!!  one of which is more than 100 feet long, and ALL of which are so overgrown it’s ridiculous.  We are “that house” right now.  All my neighbors have these pristine lawns and gardens…..and then there is our house.  Sigh.  luckily, there are only……4 beds that can be seen from the street.  We have  a lot of work ahead of us.

We were lucky enough, however, to inherit some awesome mature plants.

And, unfortunately enough, we also inherited a bunch of crap that we had to rip out for one reason or another.  sooooo many trips to the dump……

and even more unfortunately, we have deer.  Cute, sweet, innocent deer.  (We live on a mountain, you know) but…….. they ate my tulips.  ALL 14 DOZEN!  I planted 14+ dozen bulbs in my giant flower bed last fall.

 I was so excited to see them bloom this spring, but no.  The deer ate them all to the ground.

 As seen here in exhibit A:

DSC_0092

and B:

DSC_0095

And C:

DSC_0096

I’m pissed.  The blue you see here is soap.  Irish Spring Bar Soap that I grated with a cheese grater and spread in my beds.  It’s supposed to repel deer.

Too late.

I did have several survivors in other areas of the lawn, and the soap worked there. No soapy tulips got eaten.

Next year, I will beat them to the punch.

………………..

So, here is a taste of what the yard looked like recently:

DSC_0061 DSC_0062 DSC_0063 DSC_0064 DSC_0065

Man! if I had a nickel for every rock we’ve found in our beds and around the yard, I would be a wealthy woman!  (It’s the whole “we live on a mountain” thing again.)

DSC_0066 DSC_0067 DSC_0072 DSC_0075 DSC_0076 DSC_0077

^^^^^This above is a wisteria we ripped out along with a holly bush root ball.  The wisteria has since been taken to the dump.  The holly is a problem.  Nick tore it out with a tractor.  Problem is,  it’s too heavy for the tractor to lift it into the truck.  I think we’re going to need 4 men to move this thing.  Not kidding.

DSC_0083

^^^^this must go.

DSC_0084

The trench through the yard happened when we needed to fix some sprinklers.

DSC_0098 DSC_0100 DSC_0102everything was so filled in with weeds and YEARS of dead crap.  all the irises were choked out.  We probably had 20 blooms last year, because of all the weeds around them. So sad.

Lolas tree

We planted this weeping cherry tree on the anniversary of our little Lola’s passing. She is buried underneath it.  So, every year, at the time that we had her, it will bloom.

 I weeded the bed with irises, and the bed with roses.  It took me 4 days. 4 DAYS!!!!

but it looks so much better!

Weed Pile

this is about 1/3 of the way through weeding the Iris bed……….

20130504_183800 20130504_183820

Ta da! it looks so much better!  I honestly thought there were more plants in this bed…..guess not.  SO MANY WEEDS…………

20130522_084441 20130522_191013Since I have relieved my Iris from their chokehold, and given them compost, they have bloomed so much , it’s  amazing!  This is only about 1/2 of what we have right now! I’m so happy that we have all these established flowers!  I guess this is what happens when you take care of your yard……who knew?!

We also had our peony bush double in size, and another that had been choked out miraculously appeared!

While it sounds like I’m complaining, I really don’t mean to.  We are seriously blessed.  A lot of people don’t have houses or yards, or even just mature flowers.  We are really lucky, and we are so grateful!  This whole experience has just been a giant kick-in-the-face-reality-check!  Figuring out how to keep the house clean, pretty and organized, as well as the yard…..has been a challenge, to say the least.  I am grateful, though.  We will get there, it will just take some time to figure it all out.

2 thoughts on “Updates. Finally.

  1. Okay, this blog entry exhausted me jut thinking about all the work you guys have been doing. I love your home, and am thrilled that you have such a great yard out back! I can see it all now: the kids running and playing, the parties and BBQs with all your Pampered chef grilling things and eventually a wedding reception for your daughter! It looks awesome, and am just happy for you!

Leave a Reply

